Four Canadians at the 2020 PGA Championship

Mackenzie Hughes (Twitter)

Thursday will see the first major in men’s golf in 2020 with the PGA Championship at Harding Park in San Francisco, California. There will be four Canadian participants. They are Nick Taylor of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Adam Hadwin of Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Corey Conners of Listowel, Ontario, and Mackenzie Hughes of Dundas, Ontario.

Taylor will tee off at 7:16 am PT alongside Rory Sabbatini of Slovakia and Mike Auterson of the United States. Conners will tee off at 9:06 am PT alongside Zach J. Johnson of the United States and Chez Reavie of the United States. Hughes will golf alongside Americans Harris English and David Muttitt at 9:12 am PT, and Hadwin will golf with Brandt Snedeker of the United States and Xinjun Zhang of China. Sabbatini previously represented South Africa, while Zach J. Johnson cannot be confused with 2007 Masters Champion and 2015 British Open champion Zach Johnson.

All four Canadian participants have won on the PGA Tour in the past. Taylor won at the 2014 Sanderson Farms Championship in Jackson, Mississippi, and the 2020 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am in northern California. Hughes won the 2016 RSM Classic in St. Simons Island, Georgia. Hadwin won the 2017 Valspar Championship in Palm Habor, Florida, and Conners won the 2019 Valero Texas Open in San Antonio, Texas.

Hadwin, Hughes, Taylor, and Conners made Canadian golf history last week. For the first time ever four Canadians qualified for a World Golf Championship event. At the WGC-FedEx St. Jude Invitational in Memphis, Conners was the top Canadian at -4 in 30th place. Taylor was in 35th place at -3. Hughes was in 44th place at -2, and Hadwin was in 72nd place at +8. The winner was American Justin Thomas at -13.

Hadwin, Hughes, Taylor, and Conners are also all ranked in the top 100 in the Official World Golf Rankings. Hadwin is 60th, Conners is 65th, Hughes is 74th, and Taylor is 100th.

Written by 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *